//
you're reading...
Entertainment, ITV Wales diary, News

Behind the scenes at GMTV

I’m back from the big smoke and what a week and a half it’s been!!

I didn’t relish the wake-up call at 0330 every morning but aside from that, presenting the news at GMTV was brilliant!  On my first day up there I did have to do a reality check when I was just about to do my 0900 bulletin and it dawned on me that I was sitting in a studio with an ex-spice girl (Emma Bunton), who was guest presenting Lorraine Kelly’s show for the week, and the rapper (Flo Rida) who was warming up for his performance later in the programme. …Where am I again? Oh yes, that’s right, GMTV!

By Day three though, I wasn’t blinking an eye when Ben Fogle said hello to me in the corridor and Ainsley Harriot was whipping up a little something in the studio kitchen opposite the news set.  By my last day I was even feeling brave enough to ask for snaps with the celebs… no shame!  Here’s one of me and Dermot O’Leary when he popped in to studio to see Kate Garroway and Andrew Castle to talk about X-factor.  What a lovely man!

Andrea Benfield and Dermot O'leary

Dermot O’Leary posed for a picture with me when he popped in to the GMTV studio to talk about X-factor

I even managed to grab a few minutes of airtime on the GMTV sofa before my time was up! The whole gang were more than welcoming and here’s hoping I’ll be popping back before long! In the meantime I’m enjoying being back on Wales Tonight with Jon and presenting the network news for ITN at the weekends.

Not quite sure when I’m going to fit in all the training for the New York Marathon.  November is creeping up very quickly! You can follow my progress on twitter @andreabenfield

About Andrea Benfield

ITV Wales and ITN news presenter.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

Tweets from @ITVWales

Archives

