you're reading...
Ryder Cup

A giant maize maze to celebrate the Ryder Cup

A giant maze has been carved into the Welsh countryside to celebrate the Ryder Cup coming to Wales.

The maze – made out of maize – is becoming a tourist attraction at the Heatherton Country Sports Park near Tenby, Pembrokeshire.

The Ryder Cup Maize Maze

The Ryder Cup 2010 maize maze at the Heatherton Country Sports Park near Tenby, Pembrokeshire.

In previous years the park has made portrait mazes of sporting and showbiz celebrities including Joe Calzaghe, Ryan Giggs, Tom Jones and Chris Moyles.

But this year the park decided to mark the Ryder Cup coming to Wales for the first time.

Marketing and operations manager Simon Hilling said “As a massive fan of the Ryder Cup, it is a pleasure to celebrate Wales’ success in hosting the esteemed sporting event.

“We look forward to welcoming all golfing fans and tourists to the park over the summer months to see our amazing maze.”

The Ryder Cup teams will be announced on Sunday 29 August with the European Captain, Colin Montgomerie able to name three wild cards on top of the nine that automatically qualify

The nine which qualify automatically are the top four players on the Ryder Cup World Points List and the top five (exluding those on the World list) on the Ryder Cup European Points List.

The Ryder Cup takes place at the Celtic Manor Resort from 1-3 October.


European Ryder Cup standings – top four on world list qualify, then next five on European points list. Captain adds three wildcards. (Players who have already qualified are in bold):

World Points:
1 Lee Westwood 422.0
2 Rory McIlroy 316.9
3 Martin Kaymer 285.4
4 Graeme McDowell 249.3

5 Luke Donald 231.1
6 Edoardo Molinari 218.4
7 Ian Poulter 211.2
8 Padraig Harrington 204.9
9 Justin Rose 195.7
10 Francesco Molinari 172.5

European Points:
1 Lee Westwood 3,446,137
2 Martin Kaymer 2,638,282
3 Rory McIlroy 2,368,205
4 Graeme McDowell 2,307,041
5 Ian Poulter 2,238,874
6 Ross Fisher 1,708,614
7 Francesco Molinari 1,612,747
8 Peter Hanson 1,580,707
9 Miguel Angel Jimenez 1,554,775

10 Paul Casey 1,487,776
11 Padraig Harrington 1,486,529
12 Ross McGowan 1,414,157
13 Simon Dyson 1,307,700
14 Luke Donald 1,290,803
15 Alvaro Quiros 1,286,402
16 Edoardo Molinari 1,260,055



  1. Pingback: Ryder System announces executive changes | affordable life insurance - August 25, 2010

Tweets from @ITVWales


%d bloggers like this: