//
you're reading...
Sport

Gary Speed named as the new Wales manager

Gary Speed admitted the chance to manage Wales was too good to turn down after being named as John Toshack’s successor.

Gary Speed, Wales, Sheffield United, football, manager, international, boss, Welsh, Wales

Gary Speed has been appointed the new Wales boss only four after starting his managerial career

The 41-year-old  was given permission yesterday by Sheffield United to speak to the Football Association of Wales after they identified him as their preferred candidate.

Speed said: “It’s something that’s very difficult to turn down when your country comes calling. I’m a very proud man at this moment to be asked to be the manager of Wales.”

On his departure from Bramall Lane, he said: “These things happen in football, where the timing’s not always great.

“I was disappointed to leave Sheffield United because I feel I had a job to do there and was fully committed but obviously when your country comes calling it’s a tough decision you have to make. I feel in my heart it’s the right one.

“To be fair to them they’ve been fantastic throughout and made the decision really easy for me.

“I’d like to thank Sheffield United for the opportunity I’ve been given there both as a coach under Kevin Blackwell and then as a manager.”

Looking ahead, Speed is relishing the task of getting the best out of Wales’ young players.

Speed added: “I think that’s the part of the job which I’m really looking forward to.

“The group of players we’ve got, they’re of an age where they can be together for a long time and improve and grow for a long time.

“I’m looking forward to the challenge of putting things in place to try to be successful.”

The former Wales midfielder’s aim is to make his country regular contenders to qualify for major events.

“I think we need to consistently compete on a world stage and not just come close to qualifying every now and again, every 12-15 years,” he said.

“It’s my job to make sure the structure in Welsh football is such that we’re consistently competing.

“As a player I’ve been part of campaigns where we’ve just missed out, but in between those campaigns there were gaps of eight to 10 years.

“It’s my job to make sure this country develops in a way so we can consistently compete on a world stage.”

 

About Tim Hart

Cardiff University Postgraduate Student

Tweets from @ITVWales

Archives

