you're reading...
Election 2011, News, News Releases

ITV Wales to broadcast Welsh party leaders debate

Meet the ITV Wales presenting team for our Welsh Assembly Election coverage - Andrea Benfield, Jonathan Hill, Lisa Haf, Owain Phillips and Adrian Masters (Photo: Huw John Photography)

A televised debate between the four Welsh party leaders is being shown by ITV Wales on Tuesday 26 April as part of our Wales Decides 2011 Assembly General Election coverage.

And, on the afternoon of Friday May 6 as the final counts come in, ITV Wales will be showing a live election results programme fronted by its authoritative team of journalists and expert commentators.

Jonathan Hill will chair the Leaders Debate on 26 April with Carwyn Jones (Labour), Ieuan Wyn Jones (Plaid Cymru), Nick Bourne (Conservatives) and Kirsty Williams (Lib Dems) before an audience of 100 voters from across Wales at Cardiff’s Coal Exchange.

Questions from members of the audience will be put to the party leaders in the programme, which will be shown on ITV1 Wales at 10.35pm.

Phil Henfrey, Head of News & Programmes at ITV Wales, said: “The success of the Party Leaders’ debates at both UK and devolved Welsh level during last year’s General Election campaign showed there was a huge appetite amongst viewers to engage with the political process.

“Our televised leaders’ debate, shown as part of ITV Wales’ comprehensive coverage of the Assembly Election, will address the key issues that matter to voters in the run-up to polling on May 5.”


The coverage reaches its climax on Friday 6 May with a special Wales Decides 2011 live results programme between 12.30pm and 3.00pm.

The programme on ITV1 Wales will be presented by Jonathan Hill and Andrea Benfield, with ITV Wales political editor Adrian Masters in the studio to put the final results into context as they happen.

The team will be joined by political analyst Tomos Dafydd from the Institute of Welsh Politics, plus a line-up of experts with inside knowledge of the parties.

Cathy Owens (Labour), Dafydd Trystran (Plaid Cymru), Lyndon Jones (Conservative) and Alison Goldsworthy (Lib Dems) will provide viewers with insight into developments in each of the political camps as the final results come in.

From the Senedd in Cardiff Bay, Esyllt Carr will be sounding out reactions from leading politicians: Rhodri Morgan (Labour), Jonathan Evans (Conservatives), Leanne Wood (Plaid Cymru) and Jenny Randerson (Lib Dems).

Then at 6pm, Wales Tonight will pick up the election baton with a comprehensive round-up of results and election news from constituencies across Wales.

Phil Henfrey said: “With counting in a quarter of the seats not taking place until the morning of May 6, our special results programme will be tracking the newly-drawn political map as it emerges and looking ahead to what kind of government Wales can expect for the next five years.”

Follow ITV Wales on Facebook and Twitter.

Read more about the 2011 Assembly Election here.

Missed an episode of Wales Decides? Catch up here.


About ITV Wales

ITV Wales home of award winning news from Wales Tonight and Wales This Week. Bringing you the latest news, entertainment and sport from Wales


Comments are closed.

Tweets from @ITVWales


%d bloggers like this: