//
you're reading...
Entertainment, ITV Wales diary

Meeting Ms. Matthews – ITV’s Tamsin Eames chats to singer-turned-author Cerys

ITV's Tamsin Eames met Welsh star Cerys at a signing for her debut children's book, debut, Tales From The Deep

By Tamsin Eames

Madonna has done it, along with many others including Sir Paul McCartney and the Duchess of York. And now, Welsh rocker Cerys Matthews has too.

The mother-of-three has penned a book for young readers and was in Cardiff’s John Lewis to sign her debut, Tales From The Deep.

Great news for me. As a huge fan of Catatonia, it was a very easy ‘Yes’ when I was asked to go and interview the band’s leading lady.

Trying to dampen my high spirits, however, was my cameraman, Joe, who warned me that Cerys never got on well with journalists – especially those who were English.

Surely this wasn’t true? Back in 2007, I was glued to the telly to watch her and fellow celebs on I’m A Celebrity, Get Me Out Of Here, and she appeared such a genuine and approachable person. Similarly, I’ve listened to her Radio 6 show and again, she always seemed friendly.

But not wishing to take any chances, I spent the majority of the 15-minute car journey from Culverhouse Cross desperately thinking how I could disguise my fairly strong Manchester accent and replace it with a welsh one.

As soon as we arrived at John Lewis, it became clear that Joe was pulling my leg. Cerys elegantly sat behind a desk, emanating a warmth that comforted every fan who approached her with her book in hand – definitely not the scary ogre Joe had jokingly portrayed her as.

We patiently stood to one side, waiting for the queue to dwindle so we could grab a quick chat with Cerys, but eager fans left us waiting 30minutes.

It’s not surprising that so many wanted to buy her book. Tales From The Deep reinterprets two ancient Welsh legends for a new generation; combining captivating stories with beautiful illustrations by Fran Evans.

The book also proved popular with wind-up merchant Joe, who joined the queue to have it signed for his two youngsters, Oscar and Olivia.

But the wait was worthwhile. Not only did Cerys look sensational in a white dress, bold magenta tights and chunky All Saints wedges, but she was so passionate and animated about her new adventure as an author that it was impossible not to get excited with her.

So with ‘author’ added to her CV along with radio DJ, singer, songwriter and mother, it’s hard to predict what Cerys has lined-up next.

All I know is that I’m sure she’ll do it with a smile. And in the meantime, I’ll stick to my regional accent and try not to believe all that my cameraman says.

Watch Tamsin’s interview with Cerys Matthews.

Follow Tamsin on Twitter at @tamsineames

About Tamsin Eames

Manchester-born Trainee Journalist for ITV Wales.

Discussion

One thought on “Meeting Ms. Matthews – ITV’s Tamsin Eames chats to singer-turned-author Cerys

  1. I’m going to see her in concert tomorrow in Milton Keynes – very exciting 🙂 Going to have a look at her new book 🙂

    Posted by Han | May 6, 2011, 3:24 pm

Tweets from @ITVWales

Archives

