//
you're reading...
Politics

Should we stay or should we go?

If there was a tune to express the rather trying times for the Lib Dem Two, Aled Roberts and John Dixon, it might be that of the Clash: “Should I Stay or Should I Go?“

“Should I stay or should I go now
Should I stay or should I go now
If I go there will be trouble
And if I stay there will be double “

And if one was looking for someone to sing that tune with some verve, you could do worse than call for Eleanor Burnham, chanteuse, former Liberal Democrat AM and affected party.

For former Assembly member Eleanor Burham stands next on the regional list below Aled Roberts and could, of course, benefit from his exit from the political scene:

“This indecision’s bugging me
If you don’t want me set me free“

The story has been well rehearsed elsewhere, but for those who have somehow managed to miss the plot, a little summary.

John Dixon and Aled Roberts have been disqualified as AMs. The Lib Dem Two were forced to give up their seats when it became known that they had stood for election while belonging to organisations which were on a prohibited list.

The matter is now being investigated buy South Wales police and is earmarked for discussion by the Assembly on June 29th.

The Liberal Democrat Party are hoping the two can be reinstated, on the basis that they didn’t realise they were breaking the rules.

But in the meantime Eleanor is left in a political limbo, uncertain as to whether she will once more take her seat at the Assembly or not. Should she be seeking other employment or could she find herself back at the Assembly if the two aren’t reinstated?

“This indecision’s bugging me
If you don’t want me set me free“

She told me today that she just wants it all to be sorted out so that she can get on with her life.

Can I hear someone singing in the shower?

“Well come on and let me know
Should I stay or should I go?“

Discussion

Comments are closed.

Tweets from @ITVWales

Archives

