//
you're reading...
ITV Wales diary, Programmes, Royal Welsh Show

All over until next year

The one day I’ve always dreaded at the Royal Welsh Show is the Thursday. It used to be something of an anti-climax – now it’s far from that. But I still feel a sense of disappointment and sadness that it’s all going to be over for another year.

The livestock are going home

Today has been a little more sedate. I drove in on my own this morning, to take in the sights and sounds of the final day.

It brought home just how lovely that strong sense of community really is.

There’s nothing more Welsh than seeing rural Wales wake up to the biggest event in the farming calendar. It also gave me a chance to reflect on what’s happened here at Llanelwedd in 2011.

Having been a seasoned Royal Welsh-goer since I was a child, I’ve seen many magic moments in my years as a visitor and as a television reporter. But nothing can come close to yesterday. I made the decision to follow Jonathan Batt and Abergavenny Morning Queen and I’ll never forget just how special it was to see her being crowned a George Prince of Wales Cup winner.

Now the livestock have packed up and are waiting to make their way home. The trade-stands are selling their last dregs of produce, and the stewards are getting ready for a well-earned break. For everyone at the Royal Welsh Show 2011, the show is drawing to a close.

But for us, the show goes on at 10:35pm, TONIGHT, on THE SHOW, ITV1 WALES.

We’ll bring you all the very best highlights from 2011. Don’t miss it!

Discussion

Comments are closed.

Tweets from @ITVWales

Archives

