//
you're reading...
Education, Guest Blogs, Health

Guest Blog – It’s never too late to go to university

By Davina Jones

I really can’t believe that I’ll be going to university this month. I left school 27 years ago, with not much in the way of qualifications!I didn’t even know I was dyslexic – and neither did anyone else – until I started attending college last year.

 My goal is to leave university with a degree and to work in the mental health sector. There is a stigma and lots of taboos about mental health but it’s an area I would like to explore.

The sector is undervalued and understaffed and I think I could help and make a difference to people. I’d always wanted to do something like this but I never had the experience and never had the qualifications.

A couple of years ago I’d never have thought I’d be looking forward to a freshers week at university, I wouldn’t have known what it was. When you’re in your 20s you sometimes wonder what you’ll be doing in 20 years time – I’d never have imagined I’d be going to university.

Let me tell you how it all began. I started going on local community courses in and around Wrexham and I found that I could learn and that I was capable of studying. That inspired me to go on and set my sights higher and actually to enrol at college as a full-time student.

I’d been a full-time mum, but did some voluntary work like running the local youth football team. Then one day I saw an advert in the paper for my local college, and my sons encouraged me to apply. The staff and the other students were fantastic. Perhaps with me being from an older generation, I’ve been able to help them too!

But it’s all happening to me now. I’ve just become a grandmother for the first time. Both my sons live near Manchester, so my student railcard will certainly get a lot of use…

  • Davina Jones, 43, from Wrexham is a mother of two who graduated from Coleg Harlech this year. She begins a three-year BA Honours degree course in Health and Social Care this month at Bangor University


About ITV Wales

ITV Wales home of award winning news from Wales Tonight and Wales This Week. Bringing you the latest news, entertainment and sport from Wales

Discussion

Comments are closed.

Tweets from @ITVWales

Archives

